Ayanna Lloyd Banwo: When We Were Birds - JHALAK PRIZE 2023 NOMINEE

Ayanna Lloyd Banwo: When We Were Birds - JHALAK PRIZE 2023 NOMINEE

Regular price£8.99
/
Tax included. + Shipping. Free shipping on orders over £40.

Format

JHALAK PRIZE 2023 SHORTLIST NOMINEE

Mesmerising, mythic and timeless, an unmissable debut novel for fans of Arundhati Roy, Toni Morrison and Monique Roffey

'BELIEVE THE HYPE' Stella

'A searing symphony of magic and loss, love and hope' Marlon James

'A mesmerising love story, achingly tender' Bolu Babalola


Darwin is a down-on-his-luck gravedigger, newly arrived in the Trinidadian city of Port Angeles to seek his fortune, young and beautiful and lost. Estranged from his mother and the Rastafari faith she taught him, he is convinced that the father he never met may be waiting for him somewhere amid these bustling streets.

Meanwhile in an old house on a hill, where the city meets the rainforest, Yejide's mother is dying. And she is leaving behind a legacy that now passes to Yejide: the power to talk to the dead. The women of Yejide's family are human but also not - descended from corbeau, the black birds that fly east at sunset, taking with them the souls of the dead.

Darwin and Yejide both have something that the other needs. Their destinies are intertwined, and they will find one another in the sprawling, ancient cemetery at the heart of the island, where trouble is brewing...

Rich with magic and wisdom, When We Were Birds is an exuberant masterpiece that conjures and mesmerises on every line. Ayanna Lloyd Banwo weaves an unforgettable story of loss and renewal, darkness and light; a triumphant reckoning with a grief that runs back generations and a defiant, joyful affirmation of hope.

  • ISBN: 9780241991633
  • Length: 288 pages
  • Dimensions: 198mm x 17mm x 129mm
  • Weight: 202g

The last order date for Christmas delivery is Sunday 17th December.

We currently ship to the UK via Royal Mail 48 delivery.

We are hoping to expand our shipping options to include international customers very soon.

Prices

Orders under £40 : £4.50

Orders over £40: Free

Dispatch and delivery time

We dispatch all orders within 2-5 working days. Please allow at least 6 working days for your item to arrive. 

We are a small team operating out of a venue which is open to the public. We will always do our best to keep you informed where there are any delays to our service. 

Click and Collect

We now offer free click and collect from the Migration Museum in Lewisham Shopping Centre. Please note that the museum is currently open Friday - Sunday.

Ordering our organic cotton, sustainable clothing range

In order that we are able to offer a wide range of sizes and variations of our most popular design, we work with a print-on-demand clothing company. These items will be fulfilled separately from other items ordered from the Migration Museum and will arrive separately.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Support our museum

The Migration Museum explores how the movement of people to and from Britain across the ages has made us who we are – as individuals and as a nation.

All purchases help to fund our work.

Find out more
Borough of Culture
Based In Lewisham

We are very proud to be based in Lewisham. Lewisham is the London Borough of Culture 2022 and has a proud history of supporting refugees and migrants. It's been formally recognised as a Borough of Sanctuary and is teeming with creative individuals and communities.


Recently viewed